RSS Feed

Men’s Beanie Hat

Posted on

It is done! I can’t believe that something that was so simple to make took me such a long time to get to. At last it is finished, and I’m pleased with the outcome.

Crochet and men’s clothing are two things that don’t mix easily. I was happy to find this pattern that was chunky without being poofy. The yarn is also pretty cool. It’s elle timber, which is a chunky acrylic. I used a 6mm hook for the head and a 5mm hook for the brim. I also used fewer rows than in the pattern as my yarn was thicker and my hooks bigger.

Nice to have another project under my belt. I must say that whilst bigger projects give a great sense of achievement, the smaller quick ones are very fun.

Next up will be a wide baby head band with a big flower. I also still want to make a cushion for my lounge and a blanket for my room (ambitious much).

Also starting to contemplate writing my own patterns. ?!?

2 responses »

  1. I’m making this hat for my dad, and now that i am getting to the sc all round rows, i seem to be spiraling the line of the join… and i think i am adding to the stitches… is this a problem? or should i undo and redo? I can email you a pic to see if you had the same with your hat?
    Thanks for your time, Sar

    Reply
    • Hi Sarah. Once you get to that stage it does appear that the rows keep getting wider, but they are not necessarily. However, if you have lost your starting point it’s a tough one to count. If you continue as you are it may turn out fine, your only problem will be trying to finish it without an uneven edge. I would undo it up to your last sl st, place a marker there and then continue on. But I am a bit of a perfectionist.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

