RSS Feed

Cotton Oven Gloves

There’s so much you can do with a simple skein of string or two. I’ve wanted to make these  oven gloves for a while now and have finally done it. The string gives them a wonderful natural earthy look and they turned out superbly thick too.

I used Mrs Murdock’s Mittens pattern posted by Brenda K. B. Anderson on www.crochetme.com as the basic foundation for my gloves, with just a few adjustments. Instead of the ribbed pattern she used for the cuff I used alternating fpdc and bpdc as in my Coffee Cup Cozies. I did this in order to avoid the extra join. I’m lazy like that. I also up-scaled the pattern by 1 size to make it suitable as oven gloves and not fitted mittens.

The string is 1mm and most reasonably priced at a hardware store. I used 100g for these gloves with a 3.5mm hook. The stitches are very tight with such a small hook, but they need to be to create the right thickness. The bonus is that South African string is 100% cotton, making them good quality gloves that will keep their shape.

Leave a Reply

