Ladies Beach Hat

Posted on

My Aunt has just been to the Mediterranean with two friends for a fabulous holiday. While there, they came upon some lovely crocheted sun hats in a multitude of colors and ended up buying several.

As soon as I saw the pictures, I thought, ‘I can make those’. And so my next project began.

I had some Elle premium cotton in my stash, so I googled around for patterns and got started. The basic pattern I used was this one from Make and Do Crew, although I did make a couple of adjustments.

My cotton is a DK and I used a 5.5mm hook. As this pattern suggests, I used galvanized wire rope to stiffen the brim. It works perfectly.

I am delighted with the outcome. The hat is super comfortable. It squashes down completely flat, so is easy to pack. It’s 100% cotton, so keeps you really nice and cool in the hot sun. The rim is firm, but flexible. What’s not to like?

I only have one very big problem – Elle have discontinued supplying this cotton (see very sad face here). So, I am unable to make another one just like this. So far, I have not been able to find another supplier of DK mercerized cotton.

As a result, I am playing around with a natural cotton. It is also a double knit, but is definitely thicker. The hat will turn out quite differently, but I’m interested to see the final product. Watch this space to see it for yourself.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Wooly Hat | Megs J Shep

Leave a comment